Anticipated Adventures: I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Anticipated Adventures is a regular feature at Reader Voracious where I highlight and discuss upcoming releases I can’t wait to get my hands on!

Excited The Lord Of The Rings GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY
I’m going on an adventure!

📣  This week, I’m shining the spotlight an absolutely thrilling debut!  I Killed Zoe Spanos is a YA mystery standalone that will appeal to fans of Sadie and Serial. It’s inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, this book is full of psychological twists and turns that will keep you guessing to the very end!

About I Killed Zoe Spanos

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books  |  Release Date: June 30, 2020  |  Pages: 384
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller

Goodreads  Buy Indie  LibroFM  Preorder Campaign Page

I Killed Zoe Spanos coverFor fans of Sadie and Serial, this gripping thriller follows two teens whose lives become inextricably linked when one confesses to murder and the other becomes determined to uncover the real truth no matter the cost.

What happened to Zoe won’t stay buried…

When Anna Cicconi arrives to the small Hamptons village of Herron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna bears an eerie resemblance to Zoe, and her mere presence in town stirs up still-raw feelings about the unsolved case. As Anna delves deeper into the mystery, stepping further and further into Zoe’s life, she becomes increasingly convinced that she and Zoe are connected—and that she knows what happened to her.

Two months later, Zoe’s body is found in a nearby lake, and Anna is charged with manslaughter. But Anna’s confession is riddled with holes, and Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast, isn’t satisfied. Did Anna really kill Zoe? And if not, can Martina’s podcast uncover the truth?

Inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, Kit Frick weaves a thrilling story of psychological suspense that twists and turns until the final page.

I’ve already devoured this book and friends… you are going to want to add this to your TBRs! A Rebecca-inspired true crime story set in the Hamptons, Frick crafts a thrilling contemporary mystery that appeals to true crime and podcast lovers. Frick’s passion for true crime shines through, and the addition of podcast episodes into the narrative adds an interesting layer to trying to uncover the truth.

I am so excited for this one, especially since the audiobook will be full-cast! There are some podcast segments within the narrative that I think will come alive wonderfully in audio. (So much so that I preordered the audiobook, too!)

✨ My ARC review will go up on June 9th, so be sure to keep your eyes peeled for my full thoughts – but let’s just say that this was a 5-star read for me!

Preorder Incentive

Receive a bookmark, sticker, Greetings from Herron Mills postcard, and $2 donation to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children will be made for every copy that is pre-ordered with receipt submitted by June 29th. This preorder incentive is open internationally!

♦ The first edition hardcover will feature blue sprayed edges. (First printing only!)
♦ The audiobook will feature a full-cast recording!

RV-Genre-Title-Flourish

With everything going on in the world right now and some publication dates being pushed back, I want to do my part to boost books I’m excited for… especially since my reading capacity on ARCs has been zero for weeks.

Are you excited for I Killed Zoe Spanos? Was it already on your radar? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

spacer_wLet’s go on another /adventure together!

3 Comments

  1. Madi

    May 7, 2020 at 8:17 AM

    I just got approved for the ARC a few weeks ago!

  2. Sophia @ Bookwyrming Thoughts

    May 8, 2020 at 11:42 AM

    I’m probably not in the mindset to read this one when it comes out, but I’m glad to know there’s a full cast audio! I love those and they make the reading experience much more enjoyable.

  3. Phantom Paper

    May 15, 2020 at 12:28 PM

    I don’t think I even checked out the synopsis for this but omg, like Sadie?? I enjoyed that one so much! This one sounds incredibly mysterious, HOW can a girl who looks similar be the killer?? And then she confessed?? When she’s new to town? WHAT.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: