ARC Review: Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

If you’re looking for a compelling and excellently plotted addition to Gothic horror set in 1950s Mexico, look no further than Mexican Gothic!

I devoured this book in one sitting; I simply couldn’t pry my eyes away until the end… CREEPY house, CREEPY people, & excellently plotted Gothic thriller set in 1950s Mexico that you won’t be able to put down!

Read more

ARC Review: This is How I Lied by Heather Gudenkauf [Blog Tour]

Welcome friends to my post on Harlequin Trade Publishing’s blog tour for This is How I Lied by Heather Gudenkauf, which is out now!

If you are looking for a dark and twisty whodunit and how mystery that will keep you guessing, look no further!

This is How I Lied is a heavy, powerful, and twisty read. Reading this book was uncomfortable at times, resulting in an unnerving reading experience where I didn’t know who to trust.

“Dark places made it so much easier to be cruel, to exact revenge.”

Read more

Anticipated Adventures: I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Anticipated Adventures is a regular feature at Reader Voracious where I highlight and discuss upcoming releases I can’t wait to get my hands on!

Excited The Lord Of The Rings GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY I’m going on an adventure!

📣 This week, I’m shining the spotlight an absolutely thrilling debut! I Killed Zoe Spanos is a YA mystery standalone that will appeal to fans of Sadie and Serial. It’s inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, this book is full of psychological twists and turns that will keep you guessing to the very end!

Read more

ARC Review: The Silence of Bones by June Hur

Let June Jur transport your back in time in her haunting and heartbreaking YA historical mystery debut, The Silence of Bones!

This book is incredible, friends! The Silence of Bones is a haunting and heartbreaking YA historical mystery debut. I was expecting a historical whodunit but was delivered a melancholic and twisty story that tore at my heartstrings and made me cry more than once.

“The purple sky deepened into midnight black. A darkness so deep and quiet, swamped in slumbering silence, that [redacted] must have thought himself sneaky.”

Read more

Interview with Marian Womack, debut author of The Golden Key

Welcome friends to my post on Titan Books’ blog tour for Marian Womack’s The Golden Key, which is out now!

Part supernatural, part detective story with Gothic vibes? Yes please. This book screams my aesthetic, so I was really excited when Titan offered me a copy of this beautiful book for review. I won’t have the time to read it until at least April thanks to ARC Mountain, but I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to interview Marian about this book!

[caption id="attachment_8557" align="aligncenter" width="500"]The Golden Key gifted copy and enamel pin The cover is so pretty in person – it has gold foiling! And Titan also sent me a lovely enamel pin that gives me art deco vibes for some reason.[/caption]

Read on to learn how Brexit helped to shape this story, an Ode to Gothic fiction, the importance of independent presses for marginalized voices, and much more!

Read more