Black Lives Matter: How to Get Involved, Resources & Reading Recommendations

Black Lives Matter was founded in 2013 in response to the murder of Trayvon Martin, yet countless Black lives continue to be lost at the hands of police and white supremacists. The time for silence is long over; the status is not quo and it is critical that we support the people on the ground fighting for their lives (during a pandemic which is disproportionately affecting them, no less) and demand change.

Reader Voracious is going on hiatus for the time being to focus my energy on supporting Black Lives Matter and becoming a better ally. But I want to use my platform to provide information how you can be involved, resources of where to look for information, reading suggestions to confront our privilege, and uplift three Black debut authors’ novels we all should add to our TBRs!

Read more

Duology Review: Want & Ruse by Cindy Pon

The Want duology is a critically important addition to YA and speculative fiction, and more people should be talking about this book! Want tackles social and political issues: wealth disparity, access to healthcare, climate change and environmental issues, all with a found family of misfits set on changing the world for the better.

I’ll admit that it may not be the best time to read speculative fiction that hits so close to reality right now. TLDR: I wholly recommend reading the Want duology but please be sure you are in the right mindset when picking it up as it deals with viruses and may not make for the best pandemic reading experience.

Read more

Anticipated Adventures: I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Anticipated Adventures is a regular feature at Reader Voracious where I highlight and discuss upcoming releases I can’t wait to get my hands on!

Excited The Lord Of The Rings GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY I’m going on an adventure!

📣 This week, I’m shining the spotlight an absolutely thrilling debut! I Killed Zoe Spanos is a YA mystery standalone that will appeal to fans of Sadie and Serial. It’s inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, this book is full of psychological twists and turns that will keep you guessing to the very end!

Read more

ARC Review: The Silence of Bones by June Hur

Let June Jur transport your back in time in her haunting and heartbreaking YA historical mystery debut, The Silence of Bones!

This book is incredible, friends! The Silence of Bones is a haunting and heartbreaking YA historical mystery debut. I was expecting a historical whodunit but was delivered a melancholic and twisty story that tore at my heartstrings and made me cry more than once.

“The purple sky deepened into midnight black. A darkness so deep and quiet, swamped in slumbering silence, that [redacted] must have thought himself sneaky.”

Read more

ARC Review: The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

Ethereal and captivating, Marie Lu’s Kingdom of Back is an amazing historical fantasy. It’s a love letter to those silent companions forgotten to history and gives a voice to Mozart’s sister, Maria Anna. “To be remembered in this world, she created another.”

✨ You can read the first chapter in EW’s exclusive excerpt!

Friends, it is time for you to be swept away into The Kingdom of Back! Marie Lu’s first piece of historical fantasy is an enchanting and powerful story of deepest desires, the unfairness of the patriarchy, and an unbreakable sibling bond.

Read more