The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

About the Book

Publisher: Raven Books  |  Release Date: February 8, 2018  |  Pages: 512
Genre: Adult, Mystery, Thriller  |  Format: eARC  |  Source: Publisher via Netgalley

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Also titled as The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

This post uses affiliate links and I may receive a small commission for purchases made through my links at no additional cost to you. Click here for more info.

Goodreads Amazon B&N Book Depository


My Review

Wow. What a wonderful five days I had reading this mind and genre-bending Mystery debut. This is definitely a book that you should go into as blind as possible and for that reason my review will be shorter than typical as this is near impossible to review without spoilers.

“Blackheath seems fertile ground for tragedy.”

Turton managed to create an amazing and contained environment for this story to take place, and his writing is vivid in its descriptions of Blackheath and the people inhabiting it that I feel like I could walk the grounds myself. The atmospheric writing gripped from the first lines to the very last and even managed to make me feel the emotions of the main character.

While this is certainly a mind trip and not a cozy mystery read, the writing is solid and the MC’s voice at times has this sarcastic humor that I just couldn’t help but laugh out loud.

“I hadn’t previously made the connection between [redacted for spoilers], probably because it’s easier to imagine him being delivered onto this earth by a biblical plague.”

The was definitely a 5-star plot for me, but in execution I have it at 4 stars. It took some time and patience to settle into the narrative style, and I think some people will struggle. Just keep in mind that this isn’t a light, cozy mystery.

Blackheath is a place where everyone wears a mask and no one is who they seem. Paying close attention will pay dividends. While I guessed a couple of the reveals due to my pick-apart-everything nature, even I was thrown a couple of curveballs… and I love to be surprised, especially when it is done well.

I love how everything tied up nicely in the end (no loose ends that I noticed) and I think this is a book that would get better with re-reading. Turton managed an inventive, complex, and mesmerizing book for his debut and I look forward to reading his future publications. I highly recommend this book to fans of mysteries, but be prepared to be highly engaged in a web where answers come long before you think to ask the questions. I don’t think this will be for everyone, but this is an absolute gem for the right people.

Many thanks to Sourcebooks Landmark for providing me an electronic ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for my honest review. Quotations were taken from an uncorrected proof and are subject to change upon publication.

spacer_wLet’s go on another adventure together!

22 Comments

  1. Tammy

    August 9, 2018 at 9:38 AM

    I have a NetGalley copy of this as well, and every review I’ve read has been glowing! I can hardly wait until next month to read it.

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      August 9, 2018 at 3:45 PM

      Honestly I kind of get chills thinking about it now, haha! Definitely a book I will re-read at some point because I think it will be even better the second time. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts! (Also we literally have the same taste in books and I love it.)

  2. Carolina @fictionologyst

    August 9, 2018 at 10:20 AM

    I keep hearing great things about this book, I don’t read mystery but this book is piqued my interest. Great review Kaleena!!

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      August 9, 2018 at 3:46 PM

      Thanks, Carolina! IT’s definitely a genre-bending book that has the best elements of mystery but also these spooky and fantasy vibes to it. I hope you give it a shot!

      1. Carolina @fictionologyst

        August 9, 2018 at 7:16 PM

        Wait what?! It has fantasy elements too? Huh, that’s pretty weird. I think I’m gonna give it a try. Thank you Kaleena 💕

        1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

          August 10, 2018 at 8:26 AM

          Yea, that’s really the only way I can describe it. It’s an interesting read and so unique! I hope you enjoy it Carolina!

  3. harasnicole

    August 9, 2018 at 1:20 PM

    I’m expecting my copy of this in the mail hopefully soon, so I can’t wait to read this.

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      August 9, 2018 at 3:47 PM

      I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!!

  4. This Is My Genre Tag – I have thoughts on books

    August 10, 2018 at 10:44 AM

    […] am tagging Kaleena,  Nadine and Ashleigh and everybody else who wants to do this! (Please let me know if you decide […]

  5. Justine @ Bookish Wisps

    August 11, 2018 at 6:42 AM

    I was contemplating if I should go with my request of this book on NetGalley I am kind of glad that I didn’t and kind of regretting it. You mentioned that it takes a little while to get use to the narrative and getting better with rereading which I am not a huge fan of but the synopsis really is hooking. I believe this book will end up in my tbr no matter what hahaha

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      August 13, 2018 at 8:42 AM

      Honestly the book is amazing and I would recommend it. I struggled a bit with what I can only describe as shifting perspectives early on but settled in pretty quick. This is in intricately plotted mystery with a lot of stuff going on, so if you do read it be prepared to be confused for most of it – but in a good way? Like “WHAT IS GOING ON AHH” I didn’t put this in my review, but if you have ever seen the movie Memento the narrative style is similar to that in the wtf way.

      In terms of re-reading, I think that the book definitely is understandable in one read! I just enjoyed it so much and wonder what I would pick up on now that I know what happened, if that makes sense?

  6. Anticipated Reads for September 2018 – Reader Voracious Blog

    August 28, 2018 at 9:47 AM

    […] The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton Mystery, Thriller [ARC Review] […]

  7. Wrap Up: August 2018 or – I have thoughts on books

    September 1, 2018 at 3:06 AM

    […] review of The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is just wonderfully done (does anybody know why they changed the title for the US publication […]

  8. Drew @ The Tattooed Book Geek

    September 18, 2018 at 10:01 AM

    Seven Deaths (us in the UK didn’t get an extra half) is such a great book.👍

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 19, 2018 at 8:34 AM

      Yea, I read that they changed the US title because of the uncanny title similarities with the Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, haha! (The half does make sense, though!) I loved this book so much and I just saw the finished copy has a map in it and I need it immediately.

  9. This Week’s New Book Releases And Reviews – LEAVE A COMMENT and I’ll share it!! – Swift Coffee

    September 18, 2018 at 10:42 AM

    […] ‘7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle’ by Kaleena at Reader Voracious […]

  10. Top 10 Anticipated Reads for October 2018 – Reader Voracious Blog

    September 21, 2018 at 11:51 AM

    […] The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton Mystery, Thriller, Adult Fiction [ARC Review] […]

  11. July in Review – Reader Voracious Blog

    November 23, 2018 at 12:20 PM

    […] * The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton 🌟🌟🌟🌟 [ARC Review] […]

  12. October Book Haul – Reader Voracious Blog

    November 30, 2018 at 11:50 AM

    […] The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton   |  📖 Read my full review here! […]

  13. ebsandherreads

    February 13, 2019 at 7:07 PM

    Great review 🙂 I went to the book store today and this book was one of the ones on my “maybe” pile that didn’t get purchased. After reading this review though, I think I’m pushing it to my “heck yes” pile and it’ll get purchased on kobo as ebook. Can’t wait to read it. 🙂

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      February 15, 2019 at 8:47 AM

      Thank you so much, and I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did! Please tell me what you think on Twitter. 🙂

  14. Bookish Banter: Should Stats Dictate Your Posts? – Reader Voracious Blog

    March 20, 2019 at 9:38 AM

    […] really interesting to me is the number of search strings that directed traffic to my ARC review of The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle. But I am also not surprised because that book is a mindf*ck and so I got to thinking… I […]

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: