2019 Adventure Log // My Year in Reading

Happy New Year & welcome to 2020, friends!Β I am so excited to kick 2019 – and by extension it’s terrible decade – to the curb and focus on the bright and shiny new year. Before we jump feet first into the Roaring 20s (hopefully without the economic crash), I wanted to look at my year in reading.

RV-Genre-Title-Flourish

2019 Books in Review

My tradition is to set my Goodreads Reading Challenge at one book per week, which I completed at the end of July with The Merciful Crow.

2019 Reading Challenge Results
I read 91 books out of my goal of 52!

Unlike last year, I decided to not up my goal because I was already stressing out so much about reading. I spent a lot of time in 2019 slumping and feeling guilty about not reading, so I didn’t want to add to that pressure.

2019 My Year in Books 1
I read 32,390 pages across 91 books in 2019!

Surprisingly, my average rating for books in 2019 was 4.1! 😲  Which goes to show that I am getting a lot better at picking books that are more likely to be suited to my taste and setting them aside for when my mood is cooperative. Check out the rest of my Year in Books on Goodreads!

Reading Breakdown

We all know I like charts and data, so let’s dig a little deeper into the numbers to see how it breaks down. πŸ“Š Like these charts? You can get these & more from my 2020 Book Blogger / Reader Spreadsheet Template!

2019 Books by Release
Chart showing my reading by source/release. ARCs and Backlist/New are about even.

Overall I am pretty pleased with the breakdown of ARCs and Backlist/New books this year! The bummer is that I bought a lot of 2019 books and haven’t read them yet. So oops? For 2020, I’m going to be tracking owned as a source and it is my hope that it makes up a big chunk of my reading!

2019 Books by Genre
Chart showing my reading by genre. SFF is by far my most read at combined 62.5%!

It comes as no surprise that I read mostly Science Fiction & Fantasy in 2019. I love escaping into new worlds, but I found myself struggling with some burnout at the tail-end of the year. I picked up a handful of Contemporaries – which I never read, why? – and had a delightful time and it served for a palate cleanse. In 2020, I hope to branch out more consistently and be varied to avoid slumps and genre burnout.

# Books Read per Month_Dec19# Pages Read per Month in 2019_Dec19

Even though my reading wasn’t as much as I would have liked, I am pleased at how consistent I was in 2019! My averages are roughly the same from month to month and I still read a lot of books… and enjoyed most of them! That’s amazing! In 2020, I want to rebuild my daily habit of reading at least 15 minutes. The Bookly app reminder helps me a ton with this, and 15 minutes is nothing of a commitment if I am for sure not in the mood.

RV-Genre-Title-Flourish

That was my statistical look at my reading in 2019! I hope you found these graphs as interesting as I do (and if you want them yourself, you can get them for free!). My favorite reads of 2019 will come probably next week, so stay tuned for that!

How was your 2019 in reading? Did you meet your goals? Do you have any goals for 2020 that you want to share? πŸ’¬ Let’s chat in the comments!

spacer_wLet’s go on another adventure together!

51 Comments

  1. evelynreads1

    January 1, 2020 at 10:38 AM

    I love seeing other people’s stats! Great post!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:06 AM

      I’m also a SUCKER for other people’s statistics and charts! Thanks for reading and Happy New Year, Evelyn!

      1. evelynreads1

        January 3, 2020 at 9:58 AM

        Happy new year!

  2. Tammy @ Books, Bones & Buffy

    January 1, 2020 at 11:30 AM

    Happy New Year, Kal! Looks like you had a fantastic year😁

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:06 AM

      Happy New Year, Tammy! Thanks so much for being an amazing part of my 2019 & I’m looking forward to another awesome year!

  3. Sophie

    January 1, 2020 at 12:05 PM

    Hi Kal! That’s amazing that you’ve read 91 books this year! I liked how you’ve broken down your bookish stats. Fantasy has been my most-read genre last year too πŸ™‚

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:08 AM

      Thank you, Sophie! It’s funny how perspective works, because all year I was chastising myself for not reading enough, and wound up reading 91 freaking books? Like how does that makes sense?!!?! Huzzah for fantasy, and Happy New Year!

  4. Katie Jane Gallagher

    January 1, 2020 at 2:10 PM

    I think it’s great you’re getting better at picking books that you’ll enjoy! My star rating average this year was also pretty high. Happy new year!

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:09 AM

      Thank you! There is something really satisfying about getting better at predicting good reads; happy to hear your average was high as well! Happy New Year, Katie!

  5. Kat @ Novels & Waffles

    January 1, 2020 at 2:43 PM

    91 BOOKSSS??? THAT’S AWESOME! As you already know, I’m a total sucker for your spreadsheets and graphs, so I loved seeing the stats breakdown of your reading! Happy New Year!

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:10 AM

      I KNOW I AM SO SURPRISED! 😭 91 books feels impossible with how much trouble I had reading last year. Happy New Year, Kat – I’m so happy you’re back!

  6. Kelly

    January 1, 2020 at 2:44 PM

    I love seeing how other people’s reading years went. Even with a reading slump, it looks like you had a great reading year! I managed 67 out of 50 books, which is the best I’ve ever done. Hopefully 2020 will be another great year for reading. Happy New Year!

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:11 AM

      Congratulations on your best reading year ever, Kelly! THAT IS AMAZING! Happy New Year, and Happy reading!

  7. Lorraine

    January 1, 2020 at 11:23 PM

    Yay for stats! I’m such a stats nerd, so thank you for the spreadsheet!

    Do you pay for the premium version of Bookly? I keep considering it, but I’m not convinced.

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:14 AM

      Stats nerds unite! I hope the spreadsheet serves you well, it has really changed my blogging & reading game.

      I do have Bookly premium (I was gifted a lifetime subscription by the app for review), but I used the free version for about a month so I could adequately compare. If I’m being honest, the base app is sufficient. I love premium but I don’t think the additional features are really *necessary* if that makes sense.

  8. Taylor

    January 2, 2020 at 12:51 AM

    Love all the graphs and stats!! I knew I should have consulted your wrap up before making my own lol! My post goes live tomorrow, and I hope it’s as easy to digest as yours was!! Can’t wait for your favorites post!

    Also, I’m back! <3

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:15 AM

      WELCOME BACK, Taylor! I am so, so, so happy to see you back OMG! (and also for upcoming TVC squad read!)
      I’ll definitely check out your post, I am sure you did amazing.

  9. Anika

    January 2, 2020 at 3:47 AM

    91 books is amazing, well done! Hope you have a great reading year this year.

    Anika | chaptersofmay.com

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:16 AM

      Thank you Anika, I am really proud of myself given how challenging 2019 was! I hope you had a fantastic 2019 and an even better 2020.

  10. Kate

    January 2, 2020 at 8:59 AM

    Your spreadsheets and graphs always GIVE ME LIFE

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:18 AM

      Thank you so much, Kate! All the life to you because you are one of my favorite humans!

  11. Jess

    January 2, 2020 at 9:11 AM

    This is amazing! I need to go through my now complete 2019 spreadsheet and see the overall data. I also think I’m going to try out bookly for a bit!

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:19 AM

      I can’t wait to hear how your 2019 went overall! It was actually really surprising to see how well 2019 was statistically for me because I felt like it was 98% slump LOL. PERSPECTIVE IS WEIRD! And yes, give Bookly a try! The free version of the app is really fantastic and should be interesting to you.

  12. Gerry

    January 2, 2020 at 10:07 AM

    Those are some sexy stats Kal, you know I love me some sexy stats! Glad to hear that your rating was a 4.1, I’d say it’s all about quality over quantity but you smashed it on both fronts I think!

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:21 AM

      Heck yes, all stats are sexy stats if I do say so myself! Thanks so much for stopping by – NICE TO SEE YOU! Why is your blog link not clickable from your comment?

  13. Catarina @ Pages & Plots

    January 2, 2020 at 11:49 AM

    Thank you for reminding me I need to do my stats blog post πŸ™ˆ

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:21 AM

      Hahahaha! You’re welcome!

  14. 2020 Blogging Goals + Looking Back at 2019’s Goals | Your Tita Kate

    January 2, 2020 at 4:01 PM

    […] much in the bag. I just booked my flight to the United States! I can’t wait to meet up with Kal @ Reader Voracious and all the other bloggers and readers I’ve met on Twitter/through my blog/through my […]

  15. Kayla @ Books and Blends

    January 2, 2020 at 5:15 PM

    I wish you happy reading in 2020, Kaleena!

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:24 AM

      Thank you so much, Kayla! Happy New Year and happy reading in 2020!

  16. Cristina @ Girl in the Pages

    January 2, 2020 at 7:24 PM

    For slumping in 2019, you did a great job reading over 90 books! I used your spreadsheet last year and adored it, I’m really looking forward to using it again this year!

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:26 AM

      I know, it was incredibly shocking when I saw the actual numbers and had to confront reality with how I perceived things to go! But I really did struggle with wanting to read a lot of the year… I just happened to devour books when in the mood, I guess. Ahhh, I am so glad the spreadsheet served you well, and happy 2020!

  17. Tasya @ The Literary Huntress

    January 2, 2020 at 7:50 PM

    Happy new year, Kal! 2019 seems like an amazing reading year for you, so here’s for an even better one in 2020!

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:27 AM

      Happy New Year to you, Tasya! I hope 2020 treats you amazing; happy reading!

  18. Uma @Books.Bags.Burgers

    January 3, 2020 at 7:49 AM

    Sounds like a wonderful reading year Kat! <3

    1. Kal

      January 3, 2020 at 9:28 AM

      Thank you, Uma!

  19. Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books

    January 3, 2020 at 10:34 AM

    Happy new year, Kal! I’m so, so happy that your average rating has been so high in 2019. Here’s to hoping you’ll get to read some awesome reads all of 2020! πŸ™‚

    1. Kal

      January 10, 2020 at 10:13 AM

      Happy New Year to you as well, Marie!!! I am honestly so confused about my average rating because I spent so much of the year feeling mostly meh, lol. What even is reality?!

  20. Mayumi

    January 3, 2020 at 3:08 PM

    Wow congrats on smashing your gr challenge!! I only just managed to complete mine by the end of December haha! (Also love your post format πŸ˜‰)

    1. Kal

      January 10, 2020 at 10:15 AM

      Thank you so much, and happy reading in 2020!

  21. Em

    January 3, 2020 at 3:49 PM

    I love those statistic charts! My genre one looks pretty similar because a majority of the books I read this year were fantasty. LOL. I hope 2020 is another great reading year for you!

    1. Kal

      January 10, 2020 at 10:16 AM

      Thank you, I am a ho for stats lol. ALL ZE FANTASY, Em! (But to avoid slumps I need to break up my reading better lol) Happy reading to you in 2020 as well!

  22. Meaghan @ Words Gremlin

    January 3, 2020 at 6:40 PM

    I love seeing all these stats shared at the end of the year, and it looks like you had a pretty solid reading year! Good for you, getting better at picking books that you’re probably going to enjoy.

    And that owned books feature on the new spreadsheet is going to be SO HANDY. I know my stats were about half and half backlist vs new/ARCs, but I filled out the sheet yesterday and discovered I have 65 books I own but haven’t read. Oops. 😳

    1. Kal

      January 10, 2020 at 10:18 AM

      STATS STATS STATS! The thing I love almost as much as BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS! I think a big reason for the high rating may also be my tendency to DNF things I am hating for the most part, and I don’t rate those. Oh well, still more quality!

      The owned sheet is shaming me already. 65 isn’t too bad; I am at like 90 without adding my electronic books. Oops indeed.

  23. Haley

    January 4, 2020 at 12:35 PM

    I fell like it was a successful year of reading overall, I mean, like, you influenced my TBR SO MUCH and I’ve come to love so many books, so, I’m ever grateful for every single book you read!

    1. Kal

      January 10, 2020 at 10:22 AM

      I’ve got the POWAH! Honestly though, I am so happy our reading tastes are aligned and I’ve been able to bring so many books into your life WHERE THEY BELONG.

  24. Danielle

    January 10, 2020 at 12:19 PM

    Are you doing another google sheets package for 2020 book bloggers? That was a lot of fun for me, as someone who isn’t so good at keeping track of stats and data and other things. Great post for 2019 though!

    1. Kal

      January 10, 2020 at 1:03 PM

      Yes, the 2020 template was release last month and here.

  25. Annemieke

    January 14, 2020 at 10:58 PM

    Yeay stats. I love stats. It looks like you had a good reading year.

    My stats are here: https://adancewithbooks.wordpress.com/2020/01/12/time-to-crunch-some-numbers-reading-statistics-2019/

  26. Kelly | Another Book in the Wall

    January 16, 2020 at 11:31 AM

    91 books! Kal, you are so incredible! Congrats on reading so many books! And that’s wonderful that you’ve improved on choosing books that you genuinely enjoy! A 4.1 rating is such a high average! Hopefully your 2020 reads will be just as enjoyable or maybe even more so! <3

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: