August in Review

I am SO READY FOR FALL my friends that I am not even concerned with how quickly last month flew by. If I am being completely honest with you, I am just happy I managed to wait until September 1st to bust out my Halloween decorations from the closet. I am still trying to recover from the gnarly cold I came down with on Wednesday, but rest assured that my apartment will be full of spooky vibes soon!Β  πŸŽƒπŸ‘»πŸ§›

August was a really good (and balanced) reading month! Let’s see how it went over in my neck of the bookish woods.

Reading

LOOK AT THAT FRIENDS, I had a month that wasn’t purely ARCs! This is mainly because I was pulled into a fantasy slump and kept switching genres to try and combat wanting to rip my hair out, which was pretty good for my TBR Tower!

As always, you can click on the title links to be taken to the Goodreads page, and if my review has been published here on the blog I will also provide a link to it.

  1. * These Rebel Waves by Sarah Raasch [🌟🌟🌟 ARC Review]
  2. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab 🀝 buddy read with Sam [🌟🌟🌟🌟]
  3. The Log House by Baylea Hart 🌟🌟🌟
  4. Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson [🌟🌟🌟🌟 Review]
  5. * Rule by Ellen Goodlett [🌟🌟 ARC Review]
  6. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab [🌟🌟🌟]
  7. The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager [🌟🌟🌟🌟 Review]
  8. * The Siren and The Specter by Jonathan Janz [🌟🌟🌟🌟 ARC Review]
  9. * A Spark of White Fire by Sangu Mandanna [🌟🌟🌟🌟 ARC Review]
  10. * The Lantern’s Ember by Colleen Houck [🌟🌟 ARC Review]
  11. The Traitor Baru Cormorant (The Masquerade, #1) by Seth Dickinson 🀝 buddy read for Melanie’s birthday [I haven’t rated this yet]

ARCs/copies from author or publisher are noted above by an asterisk *

Total Books Read in August: 11

Total Books Read in 2018: 97
Goodreads Reading Goal: 50 100

Book Haul Ban

I started a book ban in July and have decided to continue it for the foreseeable future as a way to stop buying books I will likely never read. I have a stack of physical books that I have bought that I want to read before I begin buying again – exceptions will be made thoughtfully for certain pre-orders – but I am going to try to stay on the ban for the rest of 2018. So how am I doing? NOT WELL.

Me utterly failing at my book ban on Bookoutlet's website

I am currently trying to refrain from partaking in the Barnes & Noble 50% sale since I just bought most of my immediate TBR reads from Bookoutlet, but it is so hard. I have problems and need help. If you haven’t checked out Bookoutlet before – you should! Cheap prices, and if you use my referral code you’ll get $10 off your first order.

eBooks Purchased (all $2.99 or less): Vicious by V.E. Schwab, The Log House by Baylea Hart, How to Be a Mermaid by Erin Hayes (free), Fairy Tale Ending: A Creepy Little Bedtime Story (Creepy Little Bedtime Stories Book 5) by William F. Aicher (free), Blood Rose (Blood Books Book 1) by Danielle Rose (free), and Children of the Dark by Jonathan Janz [currently reading]

ARC Approvals

I have been working hard to get my ARC queue to a manageable level for so long, and I am so excited to say that I have made it! I have a lot of ARCs to get through but I am being much more selective with my requests and aiming for approximately four releases per month (that I can read and review the month prior to release). September is the first month I will be able to do this — now how long will it last?!

ARCs: THE EMISSARY by Tamara Veitch and Rene DeFazio

eARC approvals:Β The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox, Dracul by Dacre Stoker and JD Barker, If You’re Out There by Katy Loutzenhiser

Camping

I went camping this past month in Lake Tahoe and it was such a wonderful, relaxing weekend of me! I am really fortunate that I live equidistant to Tahoe and San Francisco, yet I rarely go east… which is silly!

My friends all hiked Mt. Tallac, but I wasn’t about that life so I stayed at camp and read books in a hammock all day. It was glorious and a very needed break from reality.

Halloween is Coming

  • I am so excited to be a host for the upcoming book blogger Blogoween! If you are a lover of Halloween, you should check out what is in store next month!
  • Mark your calendars because I have also been working on my own project for Halloween, SCARETober. It will launch on October 19th!

Thank you, everyone, so much for visiting, liking, commenting, and sharing your bookish thoughts with me last month! I hope you all have a WONDERFUL September and Happy Reading!


spacer_wLet’s go on another adventure together!

55 Comments

  1. Jonetta (Ejaygirl)

    September 2, 2018 at 8:57 AM

    Reading in a hammock by the lake vs. hiking…not even a close choice! I’m with you on this one☺️

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 11:55 AM

      Hahaha! There is a time and a place for both, but I wasn’t in the mood to summit that day! Hammock and reading was precisely what I needed. I hope you have a great September, and thanks for stopping by!

  2. jennifertarheelreader

    September 2, 2018 at 8:59 AM

    I love this post! You made me smile throughout. I don’t do well with bans, and I love how you admitted it all. Book Outlet gets me all the time! I’m so jealous of how close you are to Tahoe and SF! And reading in a hammock while camping in Tahoe! What a wonderful month in review! β™₯️

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 11:57 AM

      Awww, thank you – I love making people smile! Bans are great in theory and I do very well at first but then I get like… this itch and I go overboard. I think I need to rethink everything ahaha. I really need to leave my bubble more often, I am so lucky to live where I do!

  3. Clo @ Book Dragons

    September 2, 2018 at 9:12 AM

    THIS IS BLOGOWEEN!!!!!

    Ah I can’t do book bans. I just wait for book sales or get them when it’s buy 1 get 1 half price, though my TBR pile isn’t too bad but I am out of space for books at the moment. Boo to that haha

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 11:58 AM

      BLOGOWEEN BLOGOWEEN!

      I think I should probably take a page from your playbook and give up trying to be on a ban because it isn’t working! Thanks for stopping by, Clo!

  4. sammers65

    September 2, 2018 at 10:38 AM

    I suck at book bans like nobody’s business. They really never ever last lol. BUT THOSE VIEWS WHERE YOU WENT CAMPING!!!! 😍😍 BE STILL MY BEATING HEART!

    Also BLOGOWEEEEEEENNNNNNNNNNNN

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 11:59 AM

      BLOGOWEEN! BLOGOWEEN! 😍

      It makes me feel much better now that half of my comments are about how everyone sucks at bans, haha. It is a good idea in theory, I just wish I had better control! And yea it was so pretty out in Tahoe and the weather was perfect!

  5. confessionsofayareader

    September 2, 2018 at 10:56 AM

    You had such a great month! Lake Tahoe looks amazing. I would love to go there sometime. I have a friend that was there recently, too.

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 12:44 PM

      Thank you so much, and I definitely recommend checking out Lake Tahoe – it is BEAUTIFUL!

  6. Authoress51

    September 2, 2018 at 12:18 PM

    I have written a book being sold on Lulu.com. “The Fly and The Flea.’. The download is cheap. Maybe, if you review it, it will help sales. It is the only one I”ve written. I am having financial issues so ask this as a favor. But, I understand if you can’t.

  7. booksandblends

    September 2, 2018 at 12:49 PM

    You had a great reading month Kaleena!
    I wish you nothing but happy reading for September!

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 12:45 PM

      Thank you so much, Kayla, and I hope you have a great September as well! xox

      1. booksandblends

        September 5, 2018 at 9:51 AM

        Thank you Kaleena πŸ™‚

  8. thebookprescription

    September 2, 2018 at 2:35 PM

    Looks like it was a great month!
    you’re so close to finish the second goal too πŸ˜€

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 12:45 PM

      I KNOW! I finished my 98th book last night and am now trying to decide what my 100th book of the year will be, because that should be special!
      thanks for commenting and I hope you have a wonderful September!

      1. thebookprescription

        September 4, 2018 at 2:01 PM

        I am also approaching my 100th book and I may finish it with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

        1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

          September 4, 2018 at 3:37 PM

          That is such a good choice!!! I think I might have my re-read of Cat’s Cradle be #100!

  9. Tammy

    September 2, 2018 at 3:18 PM

    Aww I love Lake Tahoe! I haven’t been in a while though. Your photos make me want to go back😁

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 12:46 PM

      Thanks Tammy, and you definitely should make your way up the coast for a visit – it’s so peaceful and gorgeous!

  10. pcochrun

    September 2, 2018 at 6:02 PM

    Very cool… I understand about the book ban! I started looking at my daily ebook sale emails again a couple weeks ago… Ugh, I got sucked in!!

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 12:48 PM

      Oh no, me too! It is a never ending cycle but I just can’t turn down a good sale!

  11. Jenn @ the Bibliofile

    September 2, 2018 at 6:35 PM

    haha my book bans never work either πŸ™‚ love the pie charts!

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 12:49 PM

      Thank you so much, pie charts are life!
      It makes me feel so much more… normal? because everyone is sharing their book ban struggles. I am not alone! Thanks for stopping by, Jenn!

  12. Kat @ Novels & Waffles

    September 2, 2018 at 7:53 PM

    I love how organized you are, with the pie charts and everything! #goals I need to get my reading life together haha

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 12:50 PM

      Aww thank you, Kat! In case you haven’t seen it, I have a post with my book blogger templates and spreadsheets that is free to use (and includes those pie charts)! LET ME HELP YOU GET ORGANIZED! http://readervoracious.com/2018/07/11/free-bookish-blogger-templates/

      1. Kat @ Novels & Waffles

        September 6, 2018 at 12:48 AM

        OOOOOOOoOoooOooOOOoHHHHHHHHhhhHh. THIS. I NEEDED THIS IN MY LIFE. Thanks for sharing this with me!

        1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

          September 6, 2018 at 7:41 AM

          You’re welcome, I hope it helps!!! I am already plotting improvements for the 2019 sheet so let me know if there are charts, etc you would want!

  13. Susan Crosby

    September 2, 2018 at 7:56 PM

    Glad to see more and more of us agreeing on Rule.

    The camping looks wonderful… glad you enjoyed!

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 12:51 PM

      Rule was not a good time, hahaha. I would have DNF’d it I hadn’t loved the banter with Destiny as we were buddy reading it!

      And thank you so much!

  14. Carolina @fictionologyst

    September 2, 2018 at 9:19 PM

    Great reading month Kaleena! LOL I’m suck at sticking to book buying ban too!! And I can’t wait to see what you come up with SCAREtober!!!

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 12:52 PM

      Thank you, Carolina, and SCAREtober is going to be so much fun! I commissioned a little mascot for the event and am so excited… now it is time to get plotting!

      1. Carolina @fictionologyst

        September 4, 2018 at 8:17 PM

        Gaaaah can’t wait!! Good luck with plotting the event! I’m sure it’s gonna be fun, you always do fun stuff!!

  15. Kathy @Pages Below the Vaulted Sky

    September 2, 2018 at 10:21 PM

    I couldn’t go camping this year because of all the forest fires, so I’ll just live vicariously through your pictures πŸ˜€ I’m going to try hard to mix up my ARC reads with non-ARC reads this month because my ARCs for August have been a hit and miss and I don’t want to trigger a slump.

    And Blogoween sounds fun!! Halloween isn’t my favourite holiday but I LOVE seeing other people get super into it. Can’t wait to see your posts! πŸ˜€

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 4:43 PM

      Awwww yea the fires have been so bad, I haven’t been able to be outdoors that much either. The air quality in Tahoe was still not great (but was at least not dangerous). Good luck mixing your reads this month! I need to be better because slumps are bad lol

  16. Kathy @ Books & Munches

    September 2, 2018 at 11:28 PM

    Book bans are my own worst enemy, hah. I can never stick to them for some reason?
    I haven’t even created my August haul yet, but I do know I did better than.. well.. any month before that? Which is a huge win already.

    I haven’t gotten out my Halloween decorations yet but I am SO READY for the weather to go all “you stay inside and READ”. πŸ˜€

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 4:45 PM

      I can’t stick to them either, and so do most commenters on this post – you are in good company! Congrats on your progress though, I think that is amazing.

      SO READY FOR FALL. It was 94 today so uh, I am miserable over here. haha. Thanks for stopping by!

  17. The Versatile Blogger Award – Siobhan's Novelties

    September 3, 2018 at 5:09 AM

    […] KaleenaΒ | Erin | Alexandra | Kristin | Lilly | Bibi | Jess | Vanessa | Lily | Christine | Justine […]

  18. curlygeek04

    September 3, 2018 at 7:25 AM

    It sounds like a great month and a really nice trip to Tahoe! I’m jealous, I love California. I’ll check out Blogoween, Halloween is always a fun time for reading.

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 4:45 PM

      Thank you so much, and I hope you enjoy the Blogoween festivities! Happy reading!

  19. Marie

    September 3, 2018 at 11:11 AM

    Oh it seems like you had a fantastic reading month, yay! I’m glad you read and enjoyed ADSOM and AGOS, I can’t wait for you to read the last book πŸ™‚
    Happy reading and have a lovely September! πŸ™‚

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 4, 2018 at 5:02 PM

      Thank you so much, and happy reading to you as well! It may be awhile before I read ACOL… I am daunted by the number of pages and I struggled a bit with the pacing in AGOS. I love the story overall though!

      1. Marie

        September 5, 2018 at 10:35 AM

        I understand, it’s such a massive book hahaha. I didn’t notice, since I read them on an e-reader, but still. I hope you’ll like it when you get around to it, I thought it was a solid conclusion! πŸ˜€

        1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

          September 6, 2018 at 7:37 AM

          624 pages. It’s a lot, man. Haha. But I am glad to hear it is a solid conclusion to the series!!!

  20. Manon

    September 3, 2018 at 12:46 PM

    You’ve read a lot of amazing books this month! A Darker Shade of Magic is still on my TBR.

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 5, 2018 at 7:20 AM

      Thank you so much, and I hope you enjoy ADSOM when you get to it!

  21. northernplunder

    September 3, 2018 at 1:17 PM

    you read some good’uns this month!! woo πŸ™‚
    i shpoould be reading thismortail coil too soon ihope πŸ˜€

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 5, 2018 at 7:21 AM

      Yea I was pretty lucky last month overall!
      I am really excited to read that (and all the books in my haul, tbh)~! October is going to be a good reading month for me. muahahah

  22. thebookcorps

    September 3, 2018 at 4:59 PM

    You read some pretty good books!! Glad you had fun camping, it looks beautiful πŸ’•

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 5, 2018 at 7:24 AM

      It was so pretty and I want to go back now!!!! Thanks for stopping by and happy reading!

  23. Kelly Brigid

    September 3, 2018 at 7:47 PM

    Sounds like you had a great reading month, love! I’m so happy you liked ADSOF too! I read it this month too and loved it!

    I hope your September is amazing! ❀️😊

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 5, 2018 at 7:36 AM

      Thank you so much, Kelly, and I hope you have a wonderful September as well!

  24. Review: The Traitor Baru Cormorant – Pinot and Pages

    September 4, 2018 at 9:09 PM

    […] @ Meltotheany, Amy @ A Court of Crowns and Quills, Lilly @ Lair of Books, Jules @ J A Ironside, Kaleena @ Reader Voracious, and Alexis @ The Sloth […]

  25. Annemieke

    September 9, 2018 at 11:13 PM

    Sounds like you had a great August. I feel you on the ban. I tried one and failed haha.

    1. Kaleena @ Reader Voracious

      September 10, 2018 at 1:38 PM

      Bahahaha all of my comments are people commiserating about their book ban failures and I kind of love it? WHAT IS WRONG WITH US!? (nothing!) Thanks for commenting, Annemieke!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: