March Adventure Log | Month in Review

Well, March has been a wild month hasn’t it? My only solace is that I am not alone in my struggle. So many people around the world are experiencing the same fears and restrictions. I sincerely hope everyone is safe and healthy.

The Simpsons Homer GIF - TheSimpsons Homer CabinFever - Discover ...
Homer Simpson screaming Cabin Fever

My month was largely a wash because I struggle to focus when my anxiety is ramped so high, but let’s chat about the media I consumed in March.

RV-Genre-Title-Flourish

Reading

The state of the world doesn’t really lend itself to reading for me. I managed to read 4 books (1 was a re-read) and a novella last month, which honestly is more than I thought I read lol.

My Favorite Read of March

The Electric Heri

The Electric Heir by Victoria Lee is hands-down amazing, friends. The Fever King was one of my favorite books of 2019, so I was anxious to see where the story for Noam and Dara would go.

I cried. A lot.

It’s been weeks and I haven’t found the words to even attempt writing a review yet, which is a shame because the Feverwake duology is brilliant and worth the read. It’s a little difficult given the times we are currently living in as it deals with a magical plague pandemic, but the characters’ journeys is something special. And I love the hope inherent in dystopian fiction, which is refreshing in today’s times.

ARC Review to Come

All March Reads

 

ARCs/copies from author or publisher are noted below by an asterisk *

  • Memento (Illuminae Files #0.5) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – After not reading a single page for two weeks, I decided to dive back into a series I love so much and finally read my copy of Memento. I enjoyed this 82-page jaunt set before the attack on Kerenza II and was just the kind of thing I needed to wipe the cobwebs for a bit.
  • I Am Still Alive by Kate Alice Marshall – the author is on my insta-buy list ever since I read Rules for Vanishing, so I grabbed her debut powerful story of survival. Reading this one had me on the edge of my seat and fully invested. | 📖 Review
  • My Lady’s Choosing: An Interactive Romance Novel by Kitty Curran and Larissa Zageristhe slump came back so I decided to try this book my friend loaned me. It’s a book that is as much satire about historical romance tropes than it is romance, and I enjoyed following all of the options. Mac the Scotsman is the best romance option, and no one can convince me otherwise. | 📖 Review
  • The Fever King (Feverwake #1) by Victoria Lee – (re-read) Just as amazing and heartbreaking as the first time. | 📖 Review

Did Not Finish

I’ve recommitted myself to setting aside books that I don’t enjoy for 2020, and it is especially liberating! Forcing a book that I don’t like and have no interest in seeing how it resolves doesn’t do the author any favors considering I am setting myself up for a negative review and a potential slump to boot.

Life’s too short to dwell on books that aren’t for me: none!

March Statistics

Total Books Read: 5 | Total Pages Read: 1,604

Total Books Read in 2020: 21
Goodreads Reading Goal: 52

RV-Genre-Title-Flourish

ARC Mountain Update

I put myself on an ARC Ban on July 12, 2019. Back in July I wrote a post about the ban to hold me accountable, and I’m reporting on the mountain each month.

Pre-2020 ARCs: 16 (read 0)
2020 ARCs:
19 (read 1, 0 hauled)
ARC Reviews to Write: 3 (Diamond City, All the Stars and Teeth, The Electric Heir)

I’ve joined Destiny @ Howling Libraries’ #ARCApocalypse readathon and you can expect a more detailed TBR of my ARCs at some point.

RV-Genre-Title-Flourish

Blog & Personal Update

I haven’t left my apartment for more than a doctor’s appointment since [consults calendar] February 29th. I came down with the worst flu of my life on March 2nd, which 10 days later morphed into strep throat. By the time I was no longer sick, California was under Stay at Home orders.

Like a lot of people, my depression and anxiety are not handling things well but I am doing my best.I am horridly behind on my comments as always, and I hope to get caught up soon. My only goal for April is to write some overdue reviews since I haven’t been reading.

Last month, I watched a lot of TV: Reign, Scream the TV Series, Love is Blind. And some Animal Crossing New Horizons, even though I haven’t touched it for a couple of weeks.

RV-Genre-Title-Flourish

Thank you, everyone, so much for visiting, liking, commenting, and sharing your bookish thoughts with me last month! I look forward to catching up with you all as I’m able to do so — feel free to poke me on Twitter anytime as I kind of live there when I have energy.

How was March for you? What were your favorite reads of the month & what’s your favorite post from the month that you want me to check out? Drop in the comments to let me know!

spacer_wLet’s go on another /adventure together!

27 Comments

  1. Angelica @ Paperback Princess

    April 5, 2020 at 6:17 PM

    Where can we get a copy of Memento? I really want to read this!

    1. Kal

      April 5, 2020 at 6:39 PM

      Unfortunately, it was only available as a pre-order incentive for AURORA RISING last year (it’s a physical book). I am sure there are PDFs available online somewhere, but Jay and Amie said it wouldn’t ever be sold.

  2. Jenna @ Falling Letters

    April 5, 2020 at 7:48 PM

    The flu followed by strep?! Ugh, that sounds awful. I hope April looks better for you than March ❤︎

    1. Kal

      April 9, 2020 at 2:30 PM

      It was a very terrible 2 weeks of my life! I am actually thinking I might have had covid, because they are saying one of the best markers is loss of smell and taste… which I experienced. Lovely. I hope you have a wonderful April, Jenna!

  3. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer

    April 6, 2020 at 10:40 AM

    I’m so sorry you were sick, but glad you’re better. I’ve been struggling to read, too. It’s a hard time. I’m trying not to put too much pressure on myself and take one day at a time. Hang in there, and I hope you’re April is much much better! <3

    1. Kal

      April 9, 2020 at 2:32 PM

      I’m sorry that you have also been struggling with reading, Dedra. I am also trying to just go with the flow, because the guilt helps no one. I hope April is treating you well!

  4. caitlin @ caitlin althea

    April 7, 2020 at 7:22 AM

    ah, it looks like you had a horrible month, and I’m truly so sorry ❤ i hope things get better soon! it’s super understandable that you can’t read as much and be very productive during this time, so I hope you don’t feel too bad about it ❤ here’s to a better April!

    1. Kal

      April 9, 2020 at 2:59 PM

      Thank you so much, Caitlin! In perspective, things could have been much worse, so I am trying to take it one day at a time. Definitely trying to be kind to myself for not being able to read. I hope you are doing well & staying healthy!

  5. em/zainab

    April 9, 2020 at 3:54 AM

    i’m so sorry you were sick, kal. i hope this month goes better for you 💗

    1. Kal

      April 9, 2020 at 3:04 PM

      Thank you, Em! I hope so too. Happy reading!

  6. Sarah Kaye

    April 9, 2020 at 9:11 AM

    I’m sorry you were sick Kal, I hope you have a better April. I struggled to get started with reading since the isolation started but I finally found my rhythm. The Electric Heir sounds fascinating, I may pick it up soon.

    1. Kal

      April 9, 2020 at 3:06 PM

      Thank you, 2 weeks of being sick was not the great start to the month but I’m glad I got it out of the way before things got really bad. Happy to hear you found a reading rhythm, and I hope I will soon. Electric Heir was a fantastic sequel! 14/10 would recommend

  7. Jothany

    April 9, 2020 at 10:05 AM

    I want to read the Feverwake duology so bad. Idk what’s holding me back.

    Hopefully April is much much better to you 💚

    1. Kal

      April 9, 2020 at 3:07 PM

      You should definitely pick it up, it is SO GOOD! But I will admit that reading a duology about a magical pandemic is a little rough right now, so maybe waiting is a good thing?

  8. Nandini Bharadwaj

    April 10, 2020 at 9:23 AM

    This has been such a hard month for all of us, so having a slow reading month is perfectly fine. As you know, if you ever need to reach out, I’m just a DM away! 💖
    On the contrary, I’ve been reading more than ever because it gives me a means of escape from what’s happening around the world. I’m really behind on my blog posting schedule, so I’m getting caught up on that. Really focusing on simple tasks and not think too much about what’s happening is helping me stay sane. Maybe you can try it out and see if it works for you! 😊

    1. Kal

      April 14, 2020 at 6:41 PM

      Thank you so much Nandini, and please know that the offer extends to you as well! I hope you are doing okay. I am so excited that you’ve been reading, though (and a bit jealous)! I am just taking it one day at a time; unfortunately, this has been my life for the past year because of my health and I feel like the restrictions have erased the small progress I have made with not being able to see friends and family right now. Doing my best and knowing it’s temporary helps!

      1. Nandini Bharadwaj

        April 14, 2020 at 8:50 PM

        Oh no! I’m so sorry you’re going through this. I really hope you can go out soon and have your support system in place. ♥️

  9. Brittany

    April 14, 2020 at 10:00 AM

    I’m sorry about your depression and anxiety acting up 🙁 Are you alone at your apartment or do you have someone with you at least? And if it makes you feel better I am really behind on comments too! 🤣🤣 Also I’m glad you liked My Lady’s Choosing: An Interactive Romance Novel! I’ve been meaning to read that one 😀

    1. Kal

      April 14, 2020 at 7:13 PM

      I am alone (with my cat), which definitely isn’t helping. That’s why I made the decision to relocate back to San Diego about six months ago to be closer to friends and family; it stinks to not be able to see anyone right now. It DOES make me feel a little better, so thank you lol! It was a light and amusing read, definitely recommend when you can’t focus on much of anything!!!

  10. Sophia @ Bookwyrming Thoughts

    April 14, 2020 at 7:45 PM

    You are doing your best and you are doing great and I’m proud of you, Kal! I hope you’ll be okay, and just know if you ever need cute penguins launched into your DMs, just ask and I’ll happily oblige!

    I honestly feel like March for me has been a fog since Missouri hasn’t been under a statewide stay at home order until relatively recently? (But my county has definitely been under the order since near March 22 if I recall correctly.)

    1. Kal

      April 20, 2020 at 12:59 PM

      You are my biggest cheerleader, and I’m forever thankful for you and your friendship. Penguins always, tbh!

      March was such a weird and long month. And it’s been odd to watch how the various states have handled things being from California and taking things for granted here. April is flying by, though? WHAT IS TIME, really?

  11. Haley

    April 19, 2020 at 7:08 AM

    Yay for four books! I have definitely not been handling the stress well, reading slumps and slumps in blog hopping, but, UGH THE FLU? And then strep?!
    *Sends you cookies*
    You’re doing your best in the circumstances and your best is always amazing <3

    1. Kal

      April 22, 2020 at 10:33 PM

      Yeaaaaaa… flu (which I’m now thinking may have been covid) and then strep was not a great time. At all. Thanks for the cookies, they were delicious. I hope you are doing okay — it’s stressful these days and you are doing your best!!!

  12. Flora

    April 20, 2020 at 5:08 AM

    Hi Kal, as you can see I’m beginning to come out of my blogging hibernation. I was writing posts and reviews but not really visiting anyone. Like you, I was more active on Twitter. 😉 Here in the UK we’re looking at at least another 3 weeks lockdown as I write this which, I hope, will give my mental health time to strengthen and my long-lost gumption a boost.
    Stay safe and healthy. XxXx

    1. Kal

      April 26, 2020 at 1:22 AM

      Welcome back, Flora!!! I hope you are doing alright all things considered – I am on day 56 of being isolated and it’s… rough.

  13. Stephanie

    May 6, 2020 at 12:48 PM

    Ugh. The flu sucks and so does strep. I’m glad that’s over. I really hope we can get back to normal life soon. I’ve been ghosting for months due to health stuff myself so I feel that. You have awesome reading statistics for the year so far! I’ve only read 6 books. Also, the amount of ARCs you have to get through make me feel better about my backlog. lol

    1. Kal

      June 2, 2020 at 6:17 PM

      Thank you so much Stephanie, and I am so glad those health issues are behind me. I hope all the sickness I experience this year was concentrated in Feb-March because ugh. 6 books is still great! It is SO HARD to read right now with everything going on… and I’m glad my ARC Mountain has a good purpose lol

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: